Discipline and Do-Overs

January 3, 2011 at 10:52 AM 1 comment

“It was character that got us out of bed, commitment that moved us into action, and discipline that enabled us to follow through.”

Zig Ziglar

Well, here we are – 2011.  Still no jet packs or flying cars, so that’s kind of a let down.  Though, the average IQ of the general public seems to be decreasing, so it’s probably best that we’re not giving people complicated flight equipment for daily use.  With the beginning of a new year most people have resolutions.  They make these resolutions with hope in their hearts and then, like my normal random initiatives (*cough*flee the fat pants*cough*), they forget them or abandon them.

I don’t think I made a resolution last year – though in years passed I’ve been pretty successful with mine.  I’ve quit smoking, quit binge drinking as a regular part of my lifestyle, started working out more regularly than not at all, and did a triathlon (which led to another… and another… and another… well, you get it).  Usually, my resolutions come in the fall or at the start of the training season.  This year, I’ve decided on giving the year 2011 a theme – Discipline.  No, I’ve not gone all dominatrix you pervo.  I mean discipline with eating, exercising, training, and living in general… starting right after Disney, of course.

That said, I have an interesting plan for my 2011 triathlon season:  A do over.  A year of doing my same races from 2010 all over again.  But better this time.  See in my brain, aside from my half-Ironman, my 2010 in retrospect looks like a year of failures.  I want to try it all over again – and how often in life are we able to do that?!

I’m not 100% on my plan but here’s what it would look like:

  • Capital View Tri in Madison: I flatted twice on the course resulting in a DNF.  The year before, I finished last.  So, I want to finish this hilly hell of a course somewhere in the MOP this year.  Then, I can stop racing this race every year and never again do that disgusting swim that makes me dry heave just typing about it.
  • Steelhead 70.3 – I loved this race course. Plan is to beat my time & get as close to finishing in 6h30m as I can.
  • Chicago Marathon – that’s right, I think I’ll give it a go.  Not finishing has left a sour taste in my mouth.  And while I don’t really want to do this again… ever, really… I really want to finish it.

I had planned on two 70.3 races this year, but I really need some closure.  I think it will be good for me to stop, reassess, and finish what I started in 2010 before I move forward.  I’m still planning a 140.6 in 2012 – I just haven’t figured out which race that will be yet – eh, one year at a time.

Entry filed under: Life in General, Triathlon. Tags: .

Do You Want Cookies with those Fat Pants? Vegan Alfredo Sauce (also Gluten Free)

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. -phil  |  January 3, 2011 at 11:14 AM

    Be the ball, Danny.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thoughts of the Moment

"Wild women don't get the blues." _Ida Prather Cox_

"Never be bothered by something you'd be splitting your sides over if it were happening to Lucille Ball." _Robert Brault_

"Lead me not into temptation. I can find it myself." _Rita Mae Brown_

"I won't ask much of nobody - I'm just here to sing along, to make my mistakes look gracious, and learn some lessons from my wrongs." _Jason Mraz_


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

