Vegan Alfredo Sauce (also Gluten Free)

January 28, 2011 at 7:27 PM 2 comments

So, today I attempted (again) a vegan alfredo sauce.  I’ve been unsuccessful at this attempt in the past… very unsuccessful. Today, it came out pretty damn close to perfection.  I apologize for my lack of measuring, but I rarely measure out unless I’m baking.  Here’s how I made it:

  • 1/4 cup (4 TBS) of Earth Balance (I used their Vegan Buttery Sticks)
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 cup Almond milk (you can probably use other milk substitutes, but I wanted sweet for the sauce this time)
  • To taste, add by tablespoon: Eat in the Raw Vegan Parmesan
  • To taste: Kosher Salt
  • To Thicken: Corn Starch (you could probably also use chickpea flour instead if you have it)

Melt the Earth Balance, then saute garlic in it for a minute or two.  Whisk in the Almond milk, preferably with a roux whisk.  Whisk in (tablespoon by tablespoon) the Raw Vegan Parmesean.  Whisk in small amounts of corn starch to thicken, being careful not to overthicken.  Salt to taste and bam!

I served it with sauteed broccoli over Quinoa Pasta – which are both also vegan and gluten free.

Let me know how  you like it if you try it!

Entry filed under: Life in General. Tags: .

Discipline and Do-Overs I’ve Got Plans for You, 2011!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Morst  |  November 20, 2011 at 3:04 PM

    Just what I needed, thank you!

    Reply
    • 2. SKDickey  |  November 20, 2011 at 3:46 PM

      Sure – lmk if you like it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thoughts of the Moment

"Wild women don't get the blues." _Ida Prather Cox_

"Never be bothered by something you'd be splitting your sides over if it were happening to Lucille Ball." _Robert Brault_

"Lead me not into temptation. I can find it myself." _Rita Mae Brown_

"I won't ask much of nobody - I'm just here to sing along, to make my mistakes look gracious, and learn some lessons from my wrongs." _Jason Mraz_


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

