I’ve Got Plans for You, 2011!

February 3, 2011 at 4:03 PM 5 comments

The only one that can tell you “I can’t” is you,

and you don’t have to listen.

-Nike-

Well, that’s it – I registered for my 2011 races and my 2011 training season has begun!  For everyone wondering, I am NOT doing a full-Ironman distance race this year.  I’ve decided on one half-marathon and two 70.3 (half-Ironman) distance races.  Here’s the list:

Cincinnati Flying Pig Half-Marathon (Sunday, May 1, 2011)

This year I will return to “the nasty” to run my third Flying Pig Half-Marathon.  I will not be taking a bathroom break this year.  I am also aiming for a completion time of 2 hours and 15 minutes.  I think I am at the point where finishing below 2:30 is well within my reach and, if I work hard, I won’t have any reason not to hit that time.

Ironman 70.3 Racine (Sunday, July 17, 2011)

I decided my first 70.3 of the year would be Racine because of, well, timing.  It’s on July 17th which allows me enough time to recover and resume training for another 70.3.  I really loved Ironman 70.3 Steelhead, it was a great race.  It was a hard decision but timing and the fact that this race is a little of an hour & a half away from home made this a no-brainer.  I hear the roads are rough for the first 8 miles out and the last 8 miles back in but I’m taking that chance for a close to home race in July.  I’m looking to hit about 7 hours with this race.  It’s got more rolling hills than Steelhead but there were so many things that cost me time in my first 70.3 that I just will not do wrong again.

Rev3 Cedar Point – 70.3 Distance (Sept. 11, 2011)

I have heard excellent things about the Rev3 races and cannot wait for this one!  Add in that there are so many people that I know that are going to be there and that made registering for this race a total no-brainer.  I had a slight reservation since it’s on September 11th and that’s the same day Ironman Wisconsin is being held.  I was planning to volunteer for IMWI (or IMoo as it were) so I can sign up for it next year.  But decided it would be way more fun for me to go play and race with my friends – besides, there’s always the REv3 Full 140.6 distance next year!  My goal is to be around 6 hours & 30 minutes – I’m going to work hard this summer, so we’ll see how I do.

So, that is my full list of big races for the year!  I’m eying the Walt Disney World Marathon for 2012 too.  That half-marathon was so well run that if I do another marathon, it will be that one for sure.  But, I have to get through this season first… which brings me to my training plan.

I am coachless this year.  We have a number of big purchases (fence, furniture, attic organization project, possibly another car – ugh my wallet hurts already) on top of my saving for a new, super-sweet triathlon bike.  So, coaching fell to the bottom of the list of things-that-I-need-because-I-want.  So, that means I’m self-coaching.  My former-and-I-wish-she-still-was-my-coach MJ Slikas has very nicely agreed that once I get my plans together that she’ll look at them at a high level & give me a thumbs up/down.  She’s a class act with a big heart.

I think I have most of it down and am almost ready to post it.  Base phase for Racine 70.3 will start on February 27th.  Right now I’m doing lighter base workouts as prep to get my lazy butt back in gear.  The Disney Half-Marathon was the first time I had even run since November!  It’s felt good to be back on a schedule and I’m getting my eating back on target too.  This is the first year I actually feel like an educated triathlete and I think the self-coaching will help me over the long haul to understand even more.  I do have to say I want to be much better about metrics and understanding where I am and how I’m progressing.  So, keep an eye out for that and if you’re interested in my day-to-day you can find me as Dickers on Buckeye Outdoors.

Entry filed under: Cycling, Running, Swimming, Triathlon. Tags: .

Vegan Alfredo Sauce (also Gluten Free) The Birds… the Freaking Birds

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. @Beal88 aka Matthew Beal  |  February 3, 2011 at 7:43 PM

    Nice race schedule. I’m thinking about signing up for Cedar Point 70.3 as well. It only 90 minutes from me and as @tridiesel says..all the “cool kids” will be there.

    Reply
    • 2. SKDickey  |  February 10, 2011 at 8:28 AM

      HAHA All the cool kids really will be there! I’m excited about the concept of having a hotel full of triathletes too

      Reply
  • 3. Bamboo Cyclist  |  February 9, 2011 at 6:07 PM

    Sounds like a nice and fun race schedule. Self coaching will be easy for you because you already have the dedication and focus in order to get to where you need to be. I’m excited to hear how the remainder of your training goes this year and how your events go. Keep up the good work and get some good base miles in the pool and bike. Running is a piece of cake.

    Reply
    • 4. SKDickey  |  February 10, 2011 at 8:29 AM

      Thanks :) Running is my weakest sport & should be my focus… but it’s so harrrrrrrd haha

      Reply
  • 5. FranP  |  March 29, 2011 at 2:51 PM

    Great race schedule. You will rock all the races. Cant wait to follow you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thoughts of the Moment

"Wild women don't get the blues." _Ida Prather Cox_

"Never be bothered by something you'd be splitting your sides over if it were happening to Lucille Ball." _Robert Brault_

"Lead me not into temptation. I can find it myself." _Rita Mae Brown_

"I won't ask much of nobody - I'm just here to sing along, to make my mistakes look gracious, and learn some lessons from my wrongs." _Jason Mraz_


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

